Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)

Like the CFTC, the five Commissioners of the SEC are appointed by the President for a staggered five-year term; one of the commissioners is designated by the President Chairman of the Commission. The main responsibilities of the Commission are outlined in the main page of the SEC website and are the following:
interpret and enforce federal securities laws
issue new rules and amend existing rules
oversee the inspection of securities firms, brokers, investment advisers, and ratings agencies
oversee private regulatory organizations in the securities, accounting, and auditing fields
coordinate U.S. securities regulation with federal, state, and foreign authorities
Within the agency, there are five division: Corporation Finance, Trading and Markets, Investment Management, Enforcement and Risk, Strategy and Financial Innovation.
You can find the organisation chart of the SEC at the following link: Securities and Exchange Commission organigramme.